Valentine’s Day

​There are many stories about how valentine’s Day got started but they all have one thing in common. They all have love, a man named valentine, and the man is a hero or romantic. Either a man helping Christian’s escape, marry young couples, or a man that was imprisoned that feel in love with the guards daughter. 

There is many stories so I am just going to talk about my favorite ones. I will not go in to a lot of details, because I have the link below if you want to read more about these 3 men.
One story says there was a man named valentine that was helping Christian’s escape Roman prisons. He was killed while doing this. They say the day he died is what we know now as valentine’s Day.

Another one says that Emperor Claudius II believe unmarried men would make better soldiers. So he outlawed young men getting married. Then valentine would secretly marry young couples that was in love. In this story he also was put to death after they found out what he was doing.

The last one and my favorite story is the one where valentine was imprisoned and he fell in love with the guards daughter. Before he was put to death he wrote a letter to this girl and signed it “from your valentine.” That is still used today on valentine’s Day. They believe either the day he sent that letter started valentine’s Day or maybe the day he died.

I love the history they believe is behind valentine’s Day but I do not care for the holiday. When your in school or helping your kids make them it’s fun. When you get older and you are in a relationship it is like a mandatory holiday. My husband has never had to buy me a flower or anything on this day. I do not think you should only show your love one day a year. Show me you love me everyday and I will show you. You do not have to buy things to show your love. It really is the little things in life that make it so great. People that love this holiday make me so happy because I know they are romantics and love the romance. Don’t get me wrong I love gifts and romance! I just do not like how the media makes it feel if you don’t get something on valentine’s Day you are not loved or you suck for not getting your other half something. When it shouldn’t be about money and who got the best gift. What if the man of your dreams can’t afford flowers? It should be about love like valentine who feel in love with the guards daughter and wrote her a note days before he was killed. Would you want a man that couldn’t buy you a gift every holiday or birthday, but showed you every single day how much you mean to him. Or a man that could buy you everything you wanted but only showed you he appreciates you on those certain days? Me personally I would want a man to show me everyday. I don’t care about money as long as we have bills paid, food to eat, a place to live, and everything our kids need. What else do I need in life when I have my family. I know I am a sucker for romance when the media isn’t acting like it has to be done that day.

Who knows what the real story is. Maybe there is no story and it was just made up to make money. What do you think?

Let me know what you think about the post!! 
http://www.history.com/topics/valentines-day/history-of-valentines-day  

Leave a Reply

